+27 (0)12 643 3400


Block A, Inkwazi Office Park 1249 Embankment Road, Centurion, Gauteng


Home      News      Article

Janhi de Villiers, Agri SA's head: Labour and Developement part of National Minimum Wage Commission

Minister Mildred Oliphant announces National Minimum Wage Commission

Labour Minister, Mildred Oliphant announces NMW Commission to advice on the setting of minimum wage and sectoral determinations Labour Minister, Mildred Oliphant has after consultation with the National Economic Development and Labour Council (NEDLAC) officially appointed the inaugural members of the National Minimum Wage Commission (NMWC).

The NMWC will take over the functions of the Employment Conditions Commission (ECC) that has been presiding on the Sectoral Determinations (SDs).

The appointments are in line with Section 8 of the NMW Act that provides for the establishment of a National Minimum Wage Commission. The appointments include: independent experts, representatives of organised business, organised community and organised labour respectively to serve on the NMW Commission.

These are:
• Prof Adrian van der Walt, Prof Imraan Valodia, Dr Neva Makgetla, Dr Sarah Mosoetsa (independent experts);
• Mr. Kaizer Moyane (BUSA), Mr. Jonathan Goldberg (BUSA), Ms. Jahni de Villiers (BUSA) (business representatives);
• Mr. Edward Thobejane (NACTU), Mr. Solly Phetoe (COSATU), Mr. Trenton Esley (FEDUSA) (labour representatives);
• Ms. Isobel Frye (Financial Sector Coalition Campaign), Ms. Conti Matlakala (Women’s National Coalition), Mr. Tumelo Zwane (South African Youth Council) (community representatives).

Van der Walt will chair the Commission.

Some of the function of the Commission include the following:
• Reviewing the NMW and recommending its adjustment;
• Investigating and reporting to the Minister on the impact of the NMW on the economy and collective bargaining.
• Investigating income differentials and advising the Minister on measures to reduce income differentials;
• Setting medium term targets for the national minimum wage within three years of the commencement of this Act;
• Advising the Minister on sectoral determinations; and
• Advising the Minister on any matter concerning basic conditions of employment.

The Department of Labour wishes to announce that the Commission is also required to advise the Labour Minister on sectoral determinations, this therefore means that SDs will still exists because SDs not only prescribe minimum wages but also makes a provision for determining conditions of employment like leave, hours of work pertaining to that particular sector.

Members of the Commission will serve for a maximum term of five years, but may be reappointed.
The NMWC will have its first meeting in February.

Source: https://www.gov.za/speeches/minister-mildred-oliphant-announces-national-minimum-wage-commission-30-jan-2019-0000